Hey Now, All Stars: 7 Ways To Get Your Bet On At The All-Star Game Today

Written By Russ Mitchell on July 13, 2021 - Last Updated on July 22, 2022
all-star game odds

The MLB All-Star break means a workweek without nightly scores to parlay, but don’t close the tab on your favorite Iowa sportsbook just yet.

Shohei Ohtani of the LA Angels (4-1, 3.49 ERA and 11.7 K/9) and Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals (7-4, 2.66 ERA and 12.3 K/9) will take the mound for the 91st Midsummer Classic. Scherzer will be making his fourth All-Star Game start.

Ohtani will lead off for the American League, fresh off his Home Run Derby appearance. San Diego’s Fernando Tatis Jr. will lead off Tuesday night for the National League. He leads the NL with 28 home runs so far this season.

You don’t have to be a baseball expert to find the MLB betting dugout that’s right for you. In honor of the seventh month, here are seven betting options to help you enjoy the All-Star Game.

1. All Iowa sportsbooks — Who will win the All-Star Game?

Baseball’s best meet at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday at Coors Field in Denver. Fox has the coverage. The run spread Monday night was AL +1.5. If anything changes, you’ll see it in the live odds feed below.

2. DraftKings — Will we see a triple at the All-Star Game?

The odds at DraftKings are pretty close on this one, with “yes” at -105 on the moneyline wager. “No” is -115. Ten players have four or more triples at the all-star break.

Arizona left fielder David Peralta leads baseball with six, but he wasn’t invited to the All-Star party.

Atlanta 2B Ozzie Albies is an all-star selection. His five triples tie him for second.

Fellow 2B Adam Frazier of Pittsburgh and DH/RHP sensation Shohei Ohtani of the Angels both have four triples. Be sure to take Coors Field into account.

3. William Hill — Will the home team bat in the bottom of the ninth?

The National League is the home team this year, so the NL needs to be tied or trailing for a “yesbet at William Hill to pay off at -140. It’s +120 if you think the National League will close out a win in the top of the ninth.

4. William Hill — Will the All-Star Game go to extra innings?

This wager would be a cousin bet to “Will the home team bat in the bottom of the ninth?” (If the game goes to extra innings obviously the NL had to bat in the bottom of the ninth.)

A $100 “yes” bet would win $800 if the game goes into extras. Iowa bettors would have to risk $1,400 to win $100 for “no, the game won’t go to extra innings.”

Two of the last three All-Star games required a 10th inning. The previous eight All-Star games were decided in nine, however.

5. Betfred — Will there be a National League blowout?

You can bet on an enhanced 4.5 run spread for the NL at Betfred.

The payout would be $425 on a $100 bet if the NL wins by five or more. If you think the AL will win or stay within give runs, you would have to wager $610 for a $100 win. The last seven All-Star games were decided by three runs or less.

6. BetRivers — Who scores five runs first?

The moneyline at BetRivers is +107 if the American League reaches five runs first. The National League is +145.

The moneyline is +420 if both teams fall short of the nickel mark in Denver. A team has scored at least five runs in five of the last 10 All-Star games. The last time the game was at Coors Field (1998), the score was 13-8.

7. Bally Bet — Will the All-Star teams combine for 11 runs?

The total at Iowa’s newest sportsbook Bally Bet is 10.5, with over at -120 and the under is at even money.

What are the batter bargains and pitching promotions?

BetMGM Iowa Sportsbook is offering a bonus bet for the All-Star Game. Be sure to opt into the promotion and bet on either the AL or the NL team to win. If you’re wrong, BetMGM will refund up to $25 in bonus bets.

William Hill Sportsbook in Iowa is offering a moneyline super boost of +125 for bets of up to $25 for the National League.

Be sure to read through the terms and conditions of any special offer. Here’s a look at the All-Star Game rosters, starting with the junior circuit.

American League batters

(The starters are in bold.)

  • C — Salvador Perez (KC) and Mike Zunino (TB)
  • 1B — Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (TOR), Matt Olson (OAK) and Jared Walsh (LAA)
  • 2B — Marcus Semien (TOR) and Whit Merrifield (KC)
  • SS — Xander Bogaerts (BOS), Bo Bichette (TOR), Tim Anderson (CWS) and SS: Joey Wendle (TB)
  • 3B — Rafael Devers (BOS) and José Ramírez (CLE)
  • OF — Aaron Judge (NYY), Teoscar Hernández (TOR) and Cedric Mullins (BAL: replaces Mike Trout), Joey Gallo (TEX) and Adolis García (TEX)
  • DH — Shohei Ohtani (LAA), J.D. Martinez (BOS) and Nelson Cruz (MIN)

American League pitchers

  • Starting RHP — Ohtani (LAA), Gerrit Cole (NYY), Nathan Eovaldi (BOS), Kyle Gibson (TEX), Lance Lynn (CWS) and Chris Bassitt (OAK)
  • Starting LHP — LHP: Yusei Kikuchi (SEA) and Carlos Rodón (CWS)
  • Relievers RHP — Matt Barnes (BOS) and Liam Hendriks (CWS)
  • Relievers LHP — Aroldis Chapman (NYY), Gregory Soto (DET) and Taylor Rogers (MIN)

Not playing — AL

  • OF: Trout (LAA)
  • 2B: Jose Altuve (HOU)
  • SS: Carlos Correa (HOU)
  • OF: Michael Brantley (HOU)
  • RHP (starter): Shane Bieber (CLE)
  • LHP (starter): Yusei Kikuchi (SEA)
  • RHP (reliever): Ryan Pressly (HOU)

National League batters

(The starters are in bold.)

  • C — J.T. Realmuto (PHI: replaces Buster Posey) and Omar Narváez (MIL)
  • 1B — Freddie Freeman (ATL) and Max Muncy (LAD)
  • 2B — Adam Frazier (PIT), Ozzie Albies (ATL) and Jake Cronenworth (SD)
  • SS — Fernando Tatis Jr. (SD), Brandon Crawford (SF) and Trea Turner (WSH)
  • 3B — Nolan Arenado (STL), Kris Bryant (CHC), Justin Turner (LAD), Manny Machado (SD) and Eduardo Escobar (ARI)
  • OF — Nick Castellanos (CIN), Jesse Winker (CIN) and Bryan Reynolds (PIT: replaces Ronald Acuña Jr.), Juan Soto (WSH) and Chris Taylor (LAD)

National League pitchers

  • Starting RHP —Max Scherzer (WSH), Corbin Burnes (MIL), Germán Márquez (COL), Zack Wheeler (PHI), Walker Buehler (LAD), Freddy Peralta (MIL) and Taijuan Walker (NYM).
  • Starting LHP —  Trevor Rogers (MIA)
  • Relievers RHP — Craig Kimbrel (CHC), Mark Melancon (SD) and Alex Reyes (STL)
  • Relievers LHP — Josh Hader (MIL)

Not playing — NL

  • C: Posey (SF) and Yadier Molina (STL)
  • OF: Acuña Jr. (ATL), Mookie Betts (LAD) and Kyle Schwarber (WSH)
  • RHP (starters): Yu Darvish (SD), Jacob deGrom (NYM), Kevin Gausman (SF) and Brandon Woodruff (MIL).
Photo by David Zalubowski / AP
Russ Mitchell Avatar
Written by
Russ Mitchell

Russ Mitchell has been covering news and sports in northwest Iowa since 1997, including 11 years as managing editor for one of the most acclaimed community newspapers in the state. He looks forward to keeping readers up to date on the growing sportsbook industry in Iowa.

View all posts by Russ Mitchell